A Committee composed of independent experts has decided that, between the nine Croatian cities that applied for this title, the aforementioned four cities are best prepared to continue with the process of preparing their candidacy for the European Capital of Culture for 2020.

The committee comprises Sylvia Amann, Cristina Farinha, Agnieszka Wlazel – representatives of the European Parliament, Steve Green Jordi Pardo and Suzana Žilič Fišer from the European Commission, Ulrich Fuchs, Aiva Rozenberga and Pauli Sivonen from the European Council, Anton Rombouts from the European Committee of the Regions and representatives of the Croatian Ministry of Culture, Ivana Katurić and Maroje Mrduljaš.

By the beginning of 2016, the above-named cities will have to have completed their application, which the Committee will then once again review and, by the middle of the year, decide which of these cities will be awarded with the title of European Capital of Culture. During the following 20 days, the panel will send each city a written report about their application, based on which the cities that have advanced to the second round of candidacy will prepare for the completion of their application.

Pursuant to the recommendation of the Committee, the Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Croatia will formally appoint one of the cities for the bearer of the title of European Capital of Culture and notify the European Parliament, Council and Committee of the Regions on their decision. This will be the first Croatian city to be awarded the title of European Capital of Culture, while the next chance for Croatian cities to apply will be in 2035.

[foogallery id=”2056″]

Photo: Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Croatia