On Friday, 17 April 2015, the deadline for submitting Croatian cities and candidates for the European Capital of Culture for 2020 expired. The candidacies were received by the Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Croatia, which also acts the coordinator of the entire candidacy process.

In 2020, one Croatian and one Irish city will bear the title of European Capital of Culture, and the Croatian cities that have submitted their applications are Dubrovnik, ?akovo, Osijek, Pula, Rijeka, Split, Varaždin, Zadar and Zagreb. Upon the expiration of the deadline, a press conference was held in Mimara Museum, in which representatives of the candidate cities participated and, without revealing too many details, presented the main points of the candidacy of their respective cities.

During May, oral presentations from the teams that prepared the candidacy for each city are expected, while the decision on the cities that will enter the short list is planned for June. The cities’ candidacies will be evaluated by 12 independent experts (committee members) appointed by the European Commission, comprising ten members from abroad and two local members.

Details on the press conference and the joint presentation are available on the web site of the Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Croatia.


Cover photo: Dean Miculini? / Photo: Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Croatia